Posted in conferences, Uncategorized

‘Social’ is your second name

do-somethingkind-today-1

It’s been a while since I used my favorite cartoon graphics, but for me – Minions – are great metaphor of software testers. They are dedicated to work, creative and hard-working. They lack the common language, but still communicate a lot with one another. They seem to be irreplaceable and sleepless at the same time.

Some mean people might say that a Minion might also be a perfect synonym of
a corporation employee, but what would I know? 🙂 As friend of mine used to say –
I am just a poor tiny tester.

Be a social nerd

What this post would be about? Mainly about doing and talking.

Tester, as a member of the team, who usually faces customer as often as other team members, is not just a geek. Not only within the agile projects, he seems to be the most ‘people’ person. Even when he is not – he is expected to be one. 🙂 That might be surprising for introverts, who focus on quality, and at the same time, hide themselves from the world.

Does it mean that being a tester is not only to proceed the testing itself?

83ae4322dff2116546d025b11f793523

When you are a novice in software testing world, you might wonder – isn’t the whole testing thing about checking quality of the software products? It is, but traditional software testing process consists of many elements such as:

1)    Planning and Control
2)    Analysis and Design
3)    Implementation and Execution
4)    Evaluating exit criteria and Reporting
5)    Test Closure activities

In agile projects that would be all of them combined together, proceeded in non-structured form with great dose of planning, talking to people and expecting the unexpected.

Today I know also, that in testing there is a lot about talking. In worst case scenario, you might end up with talking to yourself. But what I’m thinking is talking to people. The more you talk the more you know.

Share your knowledge

tumblr_mo59twvgi01ryqnfwo2_1280

Testing within the project might be notorious and repetitive work, BUT it gives you  unique opportunity to learn certain things. What is more, those things you do on daily basis, are dedicated to your project. Even if your team is using the same set of tools and approaches as a friend of yours elsewhere – you may use them differently.

What is a benefit of this situation? You know things that no one else knows. You could use  a tool that some people may have heard of, but never used them in the way that you do. And, last but not least, your way of using them might be inspiring for someone else.

Why am I even writing about it? Because to level up your skills – you have to share your knowledge.

No matter if that is among your team members, your colleagues among organisation or with a bunch of guys attending meetups. You might loose your uniqueness in the range of skill set, but maybe you’ll help someone else to solve they inner-project problems.

Some time ago I was convinced that being a novice tester means to listen and learn – nothing more. In addition, I was also sure that just like John Snow – I knew nothing. After some time within the industry I realized, that there are so many aspects of testing that no one is able to know all of them.

Being a part of several projects gave me a chance to learn great approaches and tools, so why shouldn’t I share that knowledge with others? I started from my company, when I did a speech about issues in mobile UI testing and guess what – there were people who have never heard of things that I was talking about. That gave me a kick:) I still know nothing, but I try to share all of that little things which I am familiar with.

I would like to encourage you to speak at events and conferences. The benefit would be mutual – for you and your audience. I’ve learned that presentations might be technical or completely not – but still inspiring. And all of it is good.

d57369a246d6b3b47e32d7b8e1224b9a

Go ahead and save the world.

Leave a Reply

