Posted in conferences

How to become Jedi tester

24890461356_1f932371bb_b

Lady Vader

That will be the blog post explaining where my new nick name is coming from:) And, in some more details, what my discussion panel at the Test:Fest conference was about.

Can you see the picture above? I used that to describe myself instead of my personal one. Best idea ever. Thanks to Tomek Olszewski – one of the Test:Fest organizers – I become “Lady Vader”.

2017-03-02_20h42_27

Test:Fest

As you probably know, I had an opportunity to speak at Test:Fest conference that took place in Wrocław last weekend. Title of the discussion panel was “How to become Jedi tester” and I tried to combine agile ideas with Star Wars background there. You’ve asked me if I could write something more abut the panel itself. Let me try:)

My biggest fear was if anyone would talk during the panel, but apparently everyone was eager to speak:)

As agile is my favorite working approach and methodology – I like to talk about it and hear people’s opinion. I believe that everyone would like to be the real Jedi – why not to become Jedi tester?

Our force is quality:) We have power!

My Jedi-related panel consisted of 3 main areas:

Do you Agile?

Will “Tester” survive?

Is agile certification worthless?

Agile

It was clear very soon that everyone understands agile in a different way. Some of attendees thought about agile as a whole package (team, scrum, kanban, retrospectives), others implemented just some elements in their projects. On the other hand agile is the ability to be adoptive to changing project environment, so that was also an issue during our discussion.

There was even one brave-heart who confessed that he works in waterfall (We support you). Discussion was vivid, so I am happy with the result.

dbfd99b7196545d6ff95008ac9edae3b

Will “Tester” survive?

My point is that when we’re talking about whole team approach, roles of each team members should consist of : PM, BI, dev and test duties. During the discussion it occurred to us that everybody thinks that this is a tester role to adopt – to be agile. Did you hear about developer gathering requirements or testing (by heart) his own code? Nice output btw.

788496-black-background-star-wars-stormtroopers

Is agile certification worthless?

I’ll leave you with this question as there is as many opinions as people. Should you have any comments, write them down here or tweet me.

I would also thank everyone taking part in the panel and discussion, it was a pleasure to meet you.

 

One thought on “How to become Jedi tester

Leave a Reply

