Posted in Uncategorized

Have a chip on your shoulder

real-word-meaning-crowdsourced-dictionary-hip-dict-60-589c703b43341__700

As today we have #Eurovision contest in Kiev (привет! to all of my Ukrainian friends:) ) the warming up would be music-related.

Some time ago I’ve attended a workshop, on which I’ve learned that everyone is able to sing. People claim, that they cannot sing, they have no voice or they are not talented. The truth is, that if you can hear a sound – you are able to repeat it. Less than 10% of population is not able to do it it is not likely you are in that group:) )

On the other hand, the problem with singing is more in our heads than in other organs  responsible for the act of singing (like larynx, diaphragm or mouth). Since childhood, most of us is thought that some people have “special abilities” for doing artistic things whereas the other don’t. It’s just not true.

It is our inner critique that imprisons us and makes us more harsh for ourselves than for the people around. That’s why we should open our minds and get back to the natural abilities of each human being, which is shouting, screaming and singing.

The post won’t be about singing though, but about testing and learning new things.

Since the beginning of my professional career in testing I had always a chip on my shoulder that I don’t have technical education. I did my best at work, but still was missing something. People around me – testers, developers – they all had a technical degree. I believed that they KNOW some magical things, which I didn’t know.

My education was a huge obstacle for me at the beginning, but I am not used to giving up quickly :). Eventually, I did my best and learned new things by heart from the web (thank you testerzy.pl), books, workshops and meetups.

I was wondering – am I the only person in IT industry, who thinks this way? What is more, maybe even some experienced testers feel the same way when they leave their comfort zone and start new project, new job, new team, familiarize themselves with a new technology.

Even if you work in the IT industry for a while, at the beginning of each new task you always start like:

187d0444ea4c52cf99f0829950aa10b0983fca85

No matter if you are smart-ass and Technical University graduate or have completely different background (like I do).

What is my point?

Go and learn, girl! Put yourself together, boy!

There is no excuse. You don’t have technical background but want to be a tester? Learn! There is no magic. No mystery. I’ve read that IT industry has a space for anyone. Sure, it has a space for everyone… who wants to learn.

I know a bunch of testers, who graduated from different faculties, such as: English Philology, Chemistry, Architecture…. We have one thing in common – all of us spend free time on reading about agile, SQL, Java, UI, UX… and much more.

Gathering new abilities extends your horizon and exercises your brain. Think of it like of a training, which will help you remain younger and better organized.

After some time of such training you will be able to jump from this position:

e3db1da47e2a7b58f999825a0345fff9

… to be more like:

24890461356_1f932371bb_b

There is no worst thing than a tester who thinks he has enough. There is always not enough. You cannot stop learning, because the web changes, trends change, methodologies change and it is fast, rapid and happens now. If you don’t keep up – you become Windows XP (if you know what I mean 😉 ).

Today I want you to get up and search for something new each day. You’ve been thinking about familiarize yourself with SQL, but have no time for get it done? Find your time – 15 minutes a day, on the bus, in the queue – wherever you can.

If anyone can cook, anyone can sing – what stops you from being the best tester in the world? (Or, at least, in your organisation).

Go and make me proud!

Leave a Reply

